Global title

global msg

19th Annual Railroad Safety Poster Contest

The 2016 Railroad Safety Poster Contest has completed its competition for Fullerton School District students in kindergarten through the sixth grade. The district’s Board of Trustees recognized the top six winners at their May 10 meeting.

Southern California Railway Plaza Association presented the 18th annual contest to create an awareness of the need for safe behaviors around trains and the tracks that cut across Fullerton. The contest was open to more that 11,000 local students who were invited to choose a railroad safety theme to depict in their drawings.

Each elementary school was invited to submit entries by upper- and lower-grade division, and six citywide winners were chosen from those submissions. All of the schools’ posters are on display at the Fullerton Public Library Children's Room through May 26.

The top six citywide winners’ posters were exhibited at Railroad Days 2016. Those students will each receive passes for four round-trip tickets on the Amtrak Surfliner® and cash prizes of $100, $75 or $50, respectively, based on placement.

A special thank you to our 2016 sponsors, Amtrak and Fullerton Rotary Club.

Here are the top six citywide winning students, by grade divisions, with their teacher and school:

Lower Grades:

  • First Place — Angela Garcia, 3rd grade, Mrs. Paul, Beechwood School
  • Second — Karina Babish, 2nd grade, Mrs. Colicchio, Rolling Hills School
  • Third — Olivia Chon, 1st grade, Mrs. Healy, Beechwood School

Upper Grades:

  • First — Nathaley Kim, 5th grade, Mrs. Ceballos, Fisler School
  • Second — Andrew Song, 4th grade, Mrs. Collins, Laguna Road School
  • Third — Jamie Choi, 5th grade, Mrs. Ceballos, Fisler School

Honorable Mention:

  • Jun Han, 4th grade, Mrs. Lim, Fisler School